Coronavirus: what do foreigners entering Georgia need to know?

Foreigners entering Georgia from eight countries which have multiple cases of Covid-19 will be placed under quarantine if they fail to present a document confirming that they are not infected.Photo: Nino Alavidze/, 12 Mar 2020 - 12:19, Tbilisi,Georgia

All foreign nationals who enter Georgia from Germany, France, Austria, Spain, China, Iran, South Korea and Italy will have to present a document confirming that they have been checked for the presence of the Covid-19 virus, otherwise they will be placed under 14-day quarantine in Georgia, PM Giorgi Gakharia stated today, after declaring the government’s emergency mode to prevent the spread of the virus.

 He said that all Georgian citizens who will enter the country from these states will be placed under 14-day quarantine.

We are introducing tougher rules at the border to prevent the spread of the virus, both for Georgian and foreign nationals. Earlier we introduced special rules for those coming from Italy, Iran, South Korea and China. Starting today Germany, France, Austria and Spain will be added to the list,” Gakharia said. 

 The World Health Organisation declared the outbreak of Covid-19 as a pandemic yesterday as the virus has spread to 114 states, with 118,000 officially infected. 

 Georgia has 24 confirmed cases of the virus, with most of the cases connected with Italy.